top of page

Defra Appoints New Non-Executive Board Member

Chris Tyas OBE appointed to the departmental board

Chris Tyas OBE
Chris Tyas OBE

The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) has today (11 January 2024) announced the appointment of Chris Tyas OBE as a non-executive board member.

Non-executive board members are senior figures from outside government, appointed to provide challenge to government departments. All non-executive board member appointments follow an open and transparent process, in line with the government’s Code of Good Practice for Corporate Governance in Central Government Departments. As set out in the Code of Practice, non-executive board members are appointed directly by the Secretary of State and are not civil servants.

Chris’ term as non-executive board member will last for three years. The Defra board provides strategic, corporate leadership to the department and has particular responsibility for monitoring performance and delivery.

Chris Tyas OBE

Chris is the Chair of GS1UK, the neutral, not-for-profit standards organisation whose data standards power barcodes and QR codes globally across food, consumer goods, healthcare and construction. Chris recently spent two years as the co-Chair of Defra’s Food Resilience Industry Forum, helping to bring together all parts of the food supply chain during the pandemic.

Prior to that, Chris had a 40-year career in the food industry, working for Mars and Nestle in a variety of roles across procurement, manufacturing, HR, IT and logistics. He has spent the last five years as the Senior Vice President responsible for Nestle’s global supply chain, based in Switzerland.

bottom of page